In the eve of the first LABAT conference, on the initiative of the Organizing Committee of the conference, the Board of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences established – The Gaston Planté medal named after the inventor of the lead-acid battery.

On a special ceremony of each LABAT conference the Gaston Planté medal is awarded to a prominent scientist for his significant contribution to the lead-acid battery science and technology. The selection is made on a two-step procedure. First, all members of International Advisory committee send their rating of the three most distinguished scientists who should compete for this award. Second, the Nominating Planté Medal Committee summarizes all proposals, nominates the three highest ranked candidates for this award and raises the winner.

Four scientists (out of a total of 23 prominent battery experts proposed) have been ranked highest by the members of the two international committees of LABAT'2017. As there were two third-ranked candidates with equal number of rating points, both of them were nominated. The four nominees for the 2017 Gaston Planté Medal were:

Dr. Geno Papazov, IEES, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
Dr. Jun Furukawa, The Furukawa Battery Co., Ltd, Japan
Dr. Herbert Giess, Pyramid Vision Consulting, Switzerland
Dr. Robert Nelson, Recombination Technology, USA
Dr. Geno Papazov and Dr. Jun Furukawa, received the greatest number of votes and become joint winners of the most respected accolade in the lead-acid battery industry.

The members of LABAT'2017 Gaston Plante Medal Committee are listed here


Up to now the Planté medal is awarded to:

Dr. Ernst Voss, Varta Batterie AG, Germany


Dr. Paul Ruetschi, Leclanche S.A., Switzerland


Prof. Detchko Pavlov, CLEPS, Bulgaria


Dr. Kathryn Bullock, Medtronic Inc., USA


Dr. David A.J. Rand, CSIRO, Australia


Dr. Norman Bagshaw, NEB Consultants, UK


Mr. John Devitt, Consult. Electrical Engeneer, USA


Dr. David Prengaman, RSR Corporation, USA


The International Lead Zinc Research Organization (ILZRO)
Dr. Jerome Cole, President of ILZRO


Prof. Zen-Ihiro Takehara, Japan


Dr. Patrick Moseley, ILZRO/ALABC, USA 2008
Dr. Lan Trieu Lam – CSIRO, Australia 2011
Mr. Kenneth Peters – Battery Consultant, UK 2011
Dr. Boris Monahov – ALABC/ILZRO, USA 2014
Dr. Eberhard Meissner – Johnson Controls Power Solutions EMEA, Germany 2014
Dr. Geno Papazov – IEES, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria 2017
Dr. Jun Furukawa – The Furukawa Battery Co., Ltd, Japan 2017

About LABAT’2017
Technical Program
Conference Proceedings
Sponsors & Partners
Social Events
Venue & Accommodation
Travel Information
Important Dates